Identity Assurance Levels (IAL)

Identity Assurance Levels (IALs) are a set of standards defined by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) that convey the degree of confidence that someone’s claimed identity is their real identity (i.e. how likely an individual is actually who they say they are).

Frequently asked questions

What are the three identity assurance levels?

The three identity assurance levels, as defined by NIST, are:

  • IAL1: No requirement to link the individual to a specific real-life identity. Any information provided by the individual should be treated as self-asserted.
  • IAL2: Uses digital documents to support the real-world existence of an identity and verifies that the correct person is associated with it.
  • IAL3: Requires an authorized and trained representative to verify the individual in person.

What are the levels of identity assurance?

Defined by NIST, identity assurance levels (IALs) refer to the certainty that someone is actually who they’re claiming to be.

Ready to get started?

Get in touch or start exploring Persona today.